You are here

Board Members

School board members in Iowa are elected to four-year terms. Elections are held every other year on the first Tuesday in November, and new members begin their term at the following board meeting. The school board then elects a president and vice president from among its members to serve one-year terms.

In addition to school board meetings, board members serve on a variety of district committees and represent the district’s interests at the local, state, and national level. Board members and the school district work cooperatively with Linn County and the cities of Marion and Cedar Rapids on various initiatives. The school board and district are also actively engaged with community organizations such as MEDCO and the Marion Chamber of Commerce, as well as engaged in partnerships with neighboring school districts on a wide range of issues.

The Linn-Mar Board of Directors is an active member of the Iowa Association of School Boards and the Urban Education Networkwhich represents Iowa's largest school districts serving more than 40 percent of the state's students.

The seven elected members of the LMCSD Board of Directors are:

Barry Buchholz
Term Expires Nov 2027

Melissa Walker
Vice President
Term Expires Nov 2025