All licensed personnel, nurses, teachers, coaches, and paraeducators are mandatory reporters as provided by law and are to report alleged incidents of child abuse they become aware of within the scope of their professional duties.
When a mandatory reporter suspects a student is the victim of child abuse, the mandatory reporter will make an oral report of the suspected child abuse to the Iowa Department of Human Services within 24 hours of becoming aware of the abusive incident and shall make a written report to the Iowa Department of Human Services within 48 hours following the oral report. If the mandatory reporter believes the child is in immediate danger, the local law enforcement agency will also be notified.
Within six months of their initial employment, mandatory reporters will take a two-hour training course involving the identification and reporting of child abuse, or submit evidence they’ve taken the course within:
- The previous five years for training certificates issued prior to July 1, 2019; or
- The previous three years for training certificates issued after July 1, 2019.
After July 1, 2019, employees who have previously taken mandatory reporter training will be required to take the two-hour training course before the expiration of their current training certificate. Once the training course has been taken, the certificate will remain valid for three years. Employees who have taken the post-July 1, 2019 two-hour training course will take the one-hour follow up training course every three years and prior to the expiration of their certificate.
The superintendent is responsible for drafting administrative regulations to implement this policy.
Reviewed: 1/11; 12/11; 4/13
Revised: 9/14; 12/16; 4/20
Related Policy (Code #): 401.15-R
Legal Reference (Code of Iowa): §§ 232.67-77; 232A; 235A; 280.17; 441 IAC 9.2; 155; 175
IASB Reference: 402.2, 402.3